Spire Institute 5K

Another race, and another PR. This time I made the trip up to Spire Institute in Geneva, Ohio. I left fairly early for this meet. I didn’t have to get up at 5:30 in the morning. This time I was able to sleep in which was really needed. I also got the best racing fuel known as Subway. Always go for the Italian herb and cheese, it is the best bread there. The entire trip up and back was just a bunch of random music which helped pass the time. I listened to my favorite album that has been out since October, and that is Perception by NF.

Finally, I arrived at Spire with Coach Lopitz. We left a little earlier than the track team, but they all showed up later. These people are the best teammates ever and I am thankful that they went nuts during my 5K.  I did a short shake out when I arrived and this was my first time racing here. I was amazed at how big the indoor track facility was. I had heard teammates talk about it before, but I couldn’t believe there was an 8 lane indoor track. I was feeling nice and fresh for the race during my warm up.

It was finally time for my race and I was excited for it. I was set up to run a really fast time that would have been a yuuuugggeee PR. I started the race out at the back and worked up to the front. I worked up to the front too fast, and should have just relaxed behind the leaders instead of leading the race. I went through the first mile in a 5:10 feeling great. It didn’t even feel like a 5:10, it felt more like a 5:30. Either way I went through the race and felt great the entire time. I then made it to the middle of the race and with eight laps left I kinda stopped pushing. That is when the race really starts and I should have pushed harder. I really need to work on my mental toughness because I feel like that is 80% of racing. If you can figure that out then you are golden. I know I am really fit right now. I know the race will come around and I can’t wait for that to happen.

I held on the rest of the race but I wasn’t running the lap times I wanted to run. I finished with a time of 17:24. I was on pace for around a 16:30 5K, and I would have loved to have run that. I know it will come at the right time. I finished the race mad because I knew I could have went much faster. A lot of people would question why I would be mad about a PR, but it could have been so much better.

I cooled down and the anger started to fade away. There was a short meeting with the track team and then those competing the next day went to the hotel. I made the trip back to Wesleyan with Coach Lopitz for the athlete day on Saturday. We talked about the race and what I could have done different. Then we proceeded to listen to different kinds of music and some how made it to “Weird Al” Yankovic songs and that helped me not think about the race. It is very important to have a short term memory as a runner, so you don’t think about the bad races. It is also good to think about ways you could have improved in the race, which is what I am doing.

I am taking the week off from racing and have just been training. The next time I will be racing is on the 9th at Baldwin Wallace. I am excited for this meet because I will be doing some shorter distances.  #ScootScootTheBoogie

Leave a comment